‘I’ll Be Home Just After Christmas: Stories from Four Years Around the World on a Bicycle’

Imagine an old stub. Static and boring. Penetrating it’s roots deeply in the ground under it even though the process of absorbing had allready finished. And imagine a bird, a butterfly, a fly, a mosquito, doesn’t matter. Imagine a flying dynamic creature that quickly flies in front of stub’s nose. The encounter with this inert peace of wood is only one single moment in his day full of experiences.
It happened so that I am that stub and Matthew Blake, who had traveled around the world with a bike and had written a book about it, is that flying object. That is why it is natural that my numb mind ate the book ‘I’ll Be Home Just After Christmas: Stories From Four Years Around The World On A Bicycle’ with greediness.
It is not very original to travel around the world these days and only very charismatic travelers, clowns, or those who travel with fridges attract attention. Although Matthew hadn’t brought clown’s nose in his bag and he could be described as an ordinary guy, but it is interesting to follow that moving dot on the map in your mind. The book is also interesting because Blake didn’t stint even very intimate details for his story and was not keeping ‘where I was and what I saw’ style, he was trying to analyse himself in certain situations. The book doesn’t create an illusion that traveling around the world is an amazing adventure and a pile of great photos. It is also boredom, irksom people and exhaustion.

After I’d pushed my frozen feet into my frozen shoes and it had taken an hour and a half to get the tent down, the cold finally got the better of me when, back by the side of the road, I tried to boil a cup of tea only to find both my cigarette lighters refusing to work. The rational response would have been to get on the bike and carry on to somewhere warm. Instead I was far more primal; I smashed the cigarette lighter into tiny little pieces and then stood in the middle of the road, shouting at the top of my voice to the desert mountains:
“I WANT MY FUCKING MUMMY.”

Matthew underlines that he hadn’t done anything special, he thinks that everyone could travel around the world. Yes, it is easy to say, but try to tear up yourself by the roots.

(c) Fabula Saulė, 2016.
 All rights reserved. You may not use this content without author’s permission.

lietuviška versija

Reklama

Komentuoti

